College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

Horticulture

Personnel

Faculty

Name Position E-Mail / Phone
faculty
James M. Affolter
Professor and Director of Research
The State Botanical Garden of Georgia
Area: Herbs & Medicinal Plants,
Plant Conservation

affolter@uga.edu
706-542-6144

faculty
Douglas A. Bailey
Professor and Department Head
Area: Floriculture
dabailey@uga.edu
706-542-0624
faculty
David Berle
Associate Professor
Area: Sustainable food systems &
landscape design
dberle@uga.edu
706-542-0624
facualy
George Boyhan
Professor
Area: Vegetables
gboyhan@uga.edu
706-542-0744
Faculty
Matthew Chappell
Assistant Professor
Area: Nursery Production
hortprod@uga.edu
706-542-9044
Faculty
Dario Chavez
Assistant Professor
Area:
Peaches
dchavez@uga.edu
770-229-3369
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
Joann Conner
Research Scientist Assistant
Area:
Apomixis
jconner@uga.edu
229-391-2594
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Patrick J. Conner
Associate Professor
Area:
Pecan Breeding
pconner@uga.edu
229-386-3903
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Timothy Coolong

Associate Professor
Area: Vegetables

tcoolong@uga.edu
229-386-3806
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Mark A. Czarnota
Associate Professor
Area:
Weed Science
mac30@uga.edu
770-228-7398
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
Juan Carlos Diaz-Perez
Professor
Area:
Vegetables.
Plasticulture/protected
agriculture technologies;
organic/sustainable
vegetable production.
jcdiaz@uga.edu
229-391-6861
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Sheri Dorn
Extension Horticulturist &
State Master Gardener Coordinator
Area:
Consumer Ornamentals
sdorn@uga.edu
770-412-4766
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
faculty
David W. Lockwood
Professor
Area:
Apples, Peaches, Bunch Grapes
dlockwood@utk.edu
865-974-7324
OFF CAMPUS
Faculty
Anish Malladi
Associate Professor
Area: Pomology
malladi@uga.edu
706-542-0624
Faculty
Cecilia McGregor
Associate Professor
Area:
Vegetable Breeding,
Genetics & Genomics
cmcgre1@uga.edu
706-542-0782
Wayne E. Mitchem

Extension Associate
Area:
Regional Orchard and
Vineyard Floor Vegetation
Management Specialist

wayne_mitchem@ncsu.edu
828-684-3562
OFF CAMPUS
Faculty
Savithri Nambeesan
Assistant Research Scientist
Area:
Ripening and Postharvest
Physiology
sunamb@uga.edu
706-542-0777
Faculty
D. Scott NeSmith
Professor
Area:
Blueberry
snesmith@uga.edu
770-228-7358
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
Wilf Nicholls
Director (Academic),
State Botanical Garden of Georgia
Area:
Conservation
wilfnich@uga.edu
706- 542-6131
Faculty
Suzanne O'Connell
Assistant Professor
Area:
Sustainable & Organic
Horticulture
soco@uga.edu
706-542-0786
Faculty
Peggy Ozias-Akins
Professor
Area:
Molecular Genetics of
Plant Development
pozias@uga.edu
229-386-3902
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Bodie V. Pennisi
Professor
Area:
Commercial Landscape
bpennisi@uga.edu
770-228-7244
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
Carol D. Robacker
Associate Professor
Area:
Ornamental Breeding
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
John M. Ruter
Professor
Area:
Ornamentals and
Director, Trial Gardens at UGA
ruter@uga.edu
706-542-9059
Faculty
Timothy J. Smalley
Associate Professor
Area:
Landscape & Grounds
Management
tsmalley@uga.edu
706-542-0788
Faculty
Erick Smith
Assistant Professor
Area:
Pomology
(excludes peaches & winegrapes)
ericks@uga.edu
229-386-3119
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Paul Thomas

Professor
Area:
Professor of Floriculture,
UGA Honors Program Mentor,
Advisor to Tau Chapter, Pi Alpha Xi -
the National Honor
Society for Horticulture,
and MANRRS, Minorities in Agriculture,
Natural Resources and Related
Sciences-CAES Chapter

pathomas@uga.edu
706-542-9047
Faculty
Marc W. van Iersel
Professor

Area: Crop physiology and nutrition

mvanier@uga.edu
706-583-0284
Faculty
Susan Varlamoff
Public Service Assistant

varlamof@uga.edu
706-542-1119

Faculty
Lenny Wells
Associate Professor
Area:
Pecan Specialist
lwells@uga.edu
229-386-3806
TIFTON CAMPUS
Faculty
Bob Westerfield

Extension Consumer Horticulturist:
Extension Coordinator
Area:
Consumer Fruits & Vegetables
bwesterf@uga.edu
770-228-7252
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Faculty
Dayton Wilde
Professor
Area:
Molecular Biology
Dooley Professorship
dwilde@uga.edu
706-542-5816
Faculty
Donglin Zhang
Professor
Area:
Ornamentals
Dirr Professorship
donglin@uga.edu
706-542-0776

 

top

Adjunct Faculty

Name Position E-Mail / Phone
faculty
Scott Merkle
Adjunct Faculty
Area: Woody Plant Cell/Tissue Culture
merkle@warnell.uga.edu
706-542-6112

 

top

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Name Name
faculty
Allan M.Armitage

armitage@uga.edu
faculty
Orville M. Lindstrom Jr.
oml@uga.edu
faculty
Stanley J. Kays
kaysstan@uga.edu
faculty
Darrell Sparks

ds@uga.edu
faculty
David A. Knauft
dknauft@uga.edu
faculty
Hazel Y. Wetzstein
hwetzste@purdue.edu

 

top

Staff

Name Position E-Mail / Phone
staff
Sherrod A. Baden
Research Professional I
sbaden@griffin.uga.edu
770-412-4701
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
Anthony G. Bateman

Research Technician III

batema@uga.edu
229-386-3355
TIFTON CAMPUS
JoHannah Biang Agricultural Specialist
jb1410@uga.edu
706-542-2471
staff
Gloria J. Belvain
Research Technician III Globe777@uga.edu
706-542-2471
staff
Stephanie Botton
Research Technician III
sbotton@uga.edu
229-391-2594
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Melissa Brannon
Research Technician III
mknape@uga.edu
229-386-7495
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Allen W. Byous
Research Professional I
abyous@griffin.uga.edu
770- 412-4765
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
Yihua Chen
Research Technician III yhchen@uga.edu
706-542-2471
staff
Ye (Juliet) Chu
Research Professional IV
ychu@uga.edu
229-391-2594
TIFTON CAMPUS
Mike D. Crumley Lab/Research Technician II
229-386-3355
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Matt Dirr
Horticulture Assistant

mattd797@uga.edu
706-769-7090
staff
John W. Doyle
Research Technician III
doylejw@uga.edu
staff
Jinying Dong
Research Technician III
jdong@uga.edu
706-542-7442
staff
Evelyn Dotson
Administrative Associate II
evelynd@uga.edu
706-542-2471 
staff
Sue K. Dove
Research Professional I
sdove@uga.edu
706-542-0795
staff
Vickie Edwards

Senior Accountant

vedwards@uga.edu
706-542-0784
staff
Malgorzata Florkowska
Research Professional I
florko@griffin.uga.edu
770-229-3458
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
James W. Gegogeine
Research Technician III
706-542-2471
gegogein@uga.edu
staff
Margaret E. Green
Research Professional I
aardvark@uga.edu
706-542-2471
Gunawati Gunawan Research Professional I
gunawan@uga.edu
229-386-3355
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Carl C. Hall
Farm Supervisor II
706-769-7090
staff
Mike H. Hudson
Research Technician III
ocilla@uga.edu
229-386-3355
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Sarah Jackson
Horticulture Assistant
 
staff
Susan E. Ledbetter
Accountant
susanled@uga.edu
706-542-2471 
staff
Pam Lewis
Greenhouse Supervisor
Plewis@uga.edu
staff
Ryan McNeill
Research Station Superintendent
hortfarm@uga.edu
706-769-7090
staff
Ellis L. Moncrief
Research Coordinator I
emoncri@griffin.uga.edu
770- 229-3366
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
Timothy Putzke
Research Technician III
tsp@uga.edu
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
Evelyn Perry Saul
Research Professional II
epmorgan@uga.edu
229-391-2594
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Mary Jane Scarborough

Administrative Specialist

hortath@uga.edu
706-542-2471 
staff
Kristin Slagle
Program Specialist II
kslagle@griffin.uga.edu
770-229-3368
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
Lamont R. Sudduth
Research Professional I
lsudduth@griffin.uga.edu
770-229-3366
GRIFFIN CAMPUS
staff
Robert Tate
Senior Agricultural Specialist
rotate@uga.edu
706-542-2471
Del Taylor Agricultural Research Assistant III
delano@uga.edu
229-386-3355
TIFTON CAMPUS
staff
Vickie J. Waters

Research Technician III

vickiewo@uga.edu
staff
Brenda J. Willis
IT Professional Specialist
brendaw@uga.edu
706-542-0785 

 

top

Graduate Students

*PBGG Students

Name   E-Mail
Grad Student
Doug Alt
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Anish Malladi
altdoug@uga.edu
Kaitlin Barrios Ph.D Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. John Ruter
kmb59627@uga.edu
Grad Student
Catherine Belisle
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Dario Chavez
ceb68725@uga.edu

Bruno Casamali
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Dario Chavez
bcasamali@uga.edu
Grad Student
Paige Catotti
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Patrick Conner
pcatotti@uga.edu
Grad Student
Lindsay Davies
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Professor David Berle
lndavies@uga.edu
*Leigh Ann Fall M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Cecilia McGregor
lfall@uga.edu
Graduate Student
Noelle Fuller
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Professor David Berle
njfuller@uga.edu
Grad Student
*Rupesh Gaire
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Dayton Wilde
rphgaire@uga.edu
Grad Student
David Gianino
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Marc van Iersel
dgianino@uga.edu
Graduate Student
Heather Gladfelter
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professors: Dr. Dayton Wilde,
Dr. Scott Merkle
hjgladf@uga.edu
Bethany Harris Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Bodie Pennisi
bah5191@uga.edu
Grad Student
Susan Hawkins
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Carol Robacker
darkstar@uga.edu
Grad Student
Alicia Holloway
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. David Knauft
aholloway@uga.edu
Grad Student
T.C. Jayalath
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Suzanne O'Connell
tcjay@uga.edu
Grad Student
Shan Jing
Ph. D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Anish Malladi
shanjing@uga.edu

Mohammad Kabir
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Savithri Nambeesan
myk82754@uga.edu

Grad Student
*Leynor Layton

Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Carol Robacker
leynar@uga.edu
Reeve Legendre Ph. D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Cecilia McGregor
reeve.legendre@uga.edu
Grad Student
He Li
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Donglin Zhang
susuzx98@uga.edu
Grad Student
*Zhitong Li
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. John Ruter
zhitongli@uga.edu
Graduate Student
Jun Liu
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Dario Chavez
jl79606@uga.edu
staff
Ryan McNeill
Ph.D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Matthew Chappell
hortfarm@uga.edu
Graduate Student
Lauren Muller
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Jim Affolter
lvmuller@uga.edu
Andrew Payton M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Marc van Iersel
paytonan@uga.edu
Lauren Redpath M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Erick Smith
ler02882@uga.edu
Grad Student
Suzanne Stone
Ph.D Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. George Boyhan
sstone2@uga.edu
Grad Student
William Wheeler
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Matthew Chappell
wdw31@uga.edu
Grad Student
Shu Yang
M.S. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Tim Smalley
shuyang@uga.edu
Grad Student
Shuyang Zhen
Ph. D. Candidate
Major Professor: Dr. Marc van Iersel
syzhen@uga.edu

 

top

Postdoctoral Associates, Visiting Scientists, and Students

Name  
Visitor
Keun Chae

Visitor
UGA departmental host: Peggy Ozias-Akins
Home Institution:
Dates / Duration of stay: July 1, 2013 – December 31, 2015
Reason for visit / project investigated: conducting research on the structure and function of genomic regions in ASGR-BABYBOOM

Visiting Scholar
Lingjuan Du
Visitor
UGA departmental host: Dayton Wilde
Home Institution: Northwest A&F University, China
Dates / Duration of stay: April 29, 2015 to April 28, 2016
Reason for visit / project investigated: Examine genetic variation in genes controlling ornamental traits of blueberry
Visitor
Dr. Libo HE
Visiting Scientist
UGA departmental host: Donglin Zhang
Home Institution:
Dates / Duration of stay:March 15, 2015 to September 14, 2015
Reason for visit / project investigated: Work on the selected ornamental plants for better landscape design applications.
Postdoctoral Associate
Rachel Itle
Postdoctoral Associate
0117 Cowart Building
1109 Experiment St
Griffin, GA 30223 0000
Phone: 770-233-6113
Email: ritle@uga.edu
Program Area: Agriculture & Natural Resources
Visitor
Yibu Lu
Visiting Student
UGA departmental host: Donglin Zhang
Home Institution: Guizhou Normal University, China
Dates/Duration of stay: June 1, 2014 – May 31, 2016
Reason for visit/project investigated: Propagation, production, and breeding of Hydrangea.
Visitor
Dr. Jiyuan LI
Visiting Scientist
UGA departmental host: Donglin Zhang
Home Institution:
Dates / Duration of stay:March 15, 2015 to September 14, 2015
Reason for visit / project investigated: Work on the selection and breeding of Camellia and other selected woody ornamental plants.
Visitor
Maricel Podio
Visitor
UGA departmental host: Peggy Ozias-Akins
Home Institution: University of Georgia
Dates / Duration of stay: 10/1/14 – 9/30/17
Reason for visit / project investigated: Conduct research on apomixis in grasses, specifically Pennisetum species

 

top

University of Georgia (UGA) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)